Report on the 39th Annual Symposium on Bat Research

NASBR 2009 T-shirt

Jan Zinck and Pat Ormsbee, Local Co-Hosts
Roy Horst, Program Director

The 39th Annual Symposium on Bat Research (NASBR) was held at the Hilton Portland and Executive Towers, Portland, OR, November 4th to the 7th, 2009. Jan Zinck (Portland State University), and Pat Ormsbee (USDA Forest Service) served as the Local Co-hosts. Roy Horst served as the Program Director. Three hundred and thirty four registrants attended the three-day conference.

Most meeting participants (57%) were affiliated with academic/research institutions: 24% were from private business or private consulting groups; 19% were from federal or state government agencies. Approximately one third (35%) of meeting participants were students. The majority of NASBR participants were from North America (97%): 86% from the 50 United States; 7% from Canada, and 4% from Mexico; and less than 1% each from Australia, Brazil, Costa Rica, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, and Puerto Rico.

One hundred and eighty scientific papers were presented at the Portland meeting. Of the 180 scientific papers presented, 120 were platform presentations and 60 were poster presentations. Twenty-seven platform papers were presented in a plenary Student Competition Session on Thursday. The remaining platform papers were presented in two concurrent sessions that began on Friday morning and continued through Saturday afternoon. The 60 posters were presented Thursday through Saturday with an author-attended session Friday afternoon.

Graduate and undergraduate students who presented platform papers in the plenary student session or student poster session were judged by the Student Awards Committee to evaluate the scientific merits of their research. The committee, headed by Tigga Kingston, judged 27 student platform papers and 7 student poster presentations. Eight cash prizes of were presented at the Saturday evening banquet. The award winners were:

Outstanding Poster Presentations:

Organization for Bat Conservation Award: Marianne Moore. Mercury Exposure and Immune Responses in the Little Brown Myotis (Myotis lucifugus)

Speleobooks Award: Emily Sluzas. Dietary Niche Breadth of Myotis lucifugus in Northern Michigan

Basically Bats Wildlife Conservation Society Award: Michael Dixon. Bat Activity in the Urban Savanna of the Upper Midwest

Outstanding Platform Papers:

Titley Electronics Award: Jonathan D. Reichard. Thermal Radiators A Unique Adaptation for Long Distance Foraging and Migration

Bat Conservation International Award: Aaron Corcoran. Tiger Moth Jams Bat Sonar

Karl F Koopman Award: Sara Hayden. The Impact of Environmental Niche Specialization on the Evolution of Olfaction in Bats

Luis Bacardi Award: Emily Snode. Are Epauletted Fruit Bats Essential for Successful (Ficus sycomorus) Seed Germination During Drought Years in Kruger National Park, South Africa

Bat Research News Award: Krista Patriquin. Social Networks of Female Northern Longeared Bats Myotis septentrionalis Vary with Reproductive Period and Age

The 3rd Annual Auction to benefit the Spallanzani Fund was held on Thursday evening and was hosted by Mark Brigham. Thanks to our generous contributors and Mark's brilliant, lively, and humorous auctioneering, the event was a great success. Special thanks to Robert Timm, of the University of Kansas, for the donation of books and reprints from the University of Kansas Museum.

Student Lunches with Bat Biologists, was continued this year through the efforts of the Student Observer to the NASBR Board, Amy Turnelle This program is a welcome addition to the NASBR meetings as it allows for students to have individual time with accomplished bat biologists.

During the banquet, two NASBR members who have recently retired, Merlin Tuttle and Roy Horst, were recognized for their achievements and were well "roasted" by Tom Kunz. Another highlight of the banquet was the presentation of the Gerrit S. Miller, Jr. Award to Robert Baker of Texas Tech University. The Gerrit S. Miller, Jr. Award is presented to persons "In recognition of outstanding service and contribution to the field of chiropteran biology," and is NASBR's highest honor. We were honored to have Pascual Soriano, from Venezuela, as this year's Spallanzani Award recipient. His talk, Functional Comparisons among Bat Assemblages in Neotropical Arid Environments, was very well received, and all appreciated his thoughtful speech at the banquet.

We are grateful for the service of the 2008-2009 Board of Directors (Matina Kalcounis-Ruppell, Shahroukh Mistry, Tigga Kingston, Rodrigo Medellin, Arnulfo Moreno, Mandy Rodriquez-Duran, Maarten Vonhof, DeeAnne Reeder, and John Winkelmann) the Student Observers to the Board (Aaron Corcoran, and Amy Turmelle), the 2008 Local Host (Gary Kwiecinski) and 2010 Local Host (Rick Adams), and the Program Committee Chairs (Frank Bonaccorso and Gary Kwiecinski).

Many thanks to our Local Committee (Burr Bets, Michelle Caviness, Kathy Flick, Karen Hadley, Chris Hein, Steve Langenstein, Meg Lunuum, Barb Ogaard, Kala Rounds, Leslie Rodman, Marilou Schones), and especially our Local Host Chair (Aimee Hart).

Your Local Co-Hosts (Jan Zinck and Pat Ormsbee) and Program Director (Roy Horst) thank the membership for making this year's meeting a resounding success. We are happy to have served, and enjoyed sharing our part of the world with all of you.

NASBR 2009 Links Home NASBR 2009 Golf Tournament

Photos of Portland Portland Portland Portland Portland Portland Portland Portland Portland